Just Write Already

I’ve been spending a great deal of time considering what I’ll do when my youngest enters elementary school this August.  I guess I could sit at home and be lazy but where’s the fun in that?  So, I’ve been trying to plan out my future.

HA!  That’s funny.  PLAN. MY. FUTURE.  I’ve always lived by the adage life happens when you’re busy making plans.  Currently, I have no plan.  It seems odd to me.  I could finish my degree.  I could go work in a warehouse.  I could flip burgers.  Wow, there’s a lot of options.  It’s nice having these options but I’m waiting for something more.  Somehow, I’m going to let God make these plans.  I have no idea how this is going to look.

I’ve had two recurring thoughts recently.  First has to do with abilities and spiritual gifts.  The other is a Bible verse that has recently been impressed upon me.  Honestly, when I look at these two in conjunction with one another, it’s quite intimidating.

I’ve always been a gifted communicator.  I won my first writing contest when I was 8-years-old.  I wish I had that little book about a small family of snowmen but my second grade teacher kept it to show future students.  I’ve had a few articles published and won a couple other writing contests.  I’ve never really taken writing as a career seriously.  It’s been more of a hobby.  I feel like that’s one thing God has impressed upon me – to write.  On the other hand, what do I write?

That’s where my spiritual gift coincides with my natural talent.  My main gift is exhortation, or encouragement.  It makes sense.  I’ve always enjoyed making people smile, lifting up spirits, and helping people reach their own potential.  However, I’ve never really considered my own potential.  People try to give me credit for things they have accomplished because somewhere, along the way, I’ve encouraged them.  My daughter wouldn’t be here if not for you.  I’d never have graduated college if not for you.  It’s all because of you that I decided to get my masters degree.  I wouldn’t be where I am today without you.  You made me who I am.  This is where people tend to get some things wrong; they’ve always had the power and ability.  It was me that lit the fire, that motivated them to persevere despite whatever obstacles they faced.  In a way, I’m a firestarter!  That’s my potential.

This is where the Bible verse I’ve been seeing frequently comes into play.  For everyone to whom much is given, from him much will be required.  Luke 12:48   I feel like God is using this verse as a way to impress upon me the responsibility I have to use my gifts for His glory and not my own.  Being able to encourage in such a near supernatural way, now that’s some serious power.  I can soften hearts, change minds, and motivate action just by using words.

I feel like Spiderman, only my webs are words.  It’s hard to be a superhero.        

Leave a Reply

