The Drive Thru Drive By

On occasion, I’ve been known to pay for the car behind me at various drive thru restaurants.  My goal when I do this is to make a quick getaway so the person behind me doesn’t have the chance to thank me.  I appreciate the gratitude but that’s not why I do it.  I just want to share my blessings.  Then sometimes, things go completely awry.

My grandmother gave my husband and me gift cards to Steak N Shake for Christmas.  There’s not one really that close to our home but I was really wanting one of those Royal Steakburgers.  I drove the 20 minutes to Steak N Shake.  I could have gone to a closer one but decided to head for this one because I knew exactly where it is.  I’m still getting to know my area and didn’t want to get lost.

When I pulled into the parking lot, there was a car pulling in just ahead of me.  Before going into the drive thru, they pulled off to the side.  I figured maybe they were being courteous because they didn’t know what they wanted and didn’t want me to wait for them to decide.  Makes sense, right?  I’d do the same thing.

I get up to the window and pay for my order and shortly after that, this other car pulls up behind me.  I asked the cashier how much their order was and decided to pay the $7.35 for their breakfast.  They were kind enough to let me go ahead, I’m just repaying the favor.

That’s when things get dicey.  It’s taking forever and the staff inside the restaurant is  running around trying to get things done.  The cashier comes up with my food and apologizes for how long it had taken which I’m not worried about.  She’s trying so hard to get things done and she’s certainly flustered.  Then she knocks one of my bags onto the floor and my food ends up all over the floor.  I couldn’t help but feel so bad for the woman and also the people behind me that now had to wait even longer.  I was going to offer to come inside but she left the window before I could say anything.

In this time, a big black truck had pulled in behind the car behind me and then decided to leave.  I kept thinking what if the people I paid for leave?  A few minutes later, it happened.  They pulled out of the drive-thru line but at least they decided to go inside.  But before they parked, they pulled up next to me and gave me dirty looks.  They made sure that I knew of their displeasure.

The cashier came back to the window again to apologize and that it would only be a couple minutes.  I told her not to worry but the people behind me pulled out and were headed inside.  She asked me if I was sure.  I said with a chuckle, “Oh yes, they made sure to give me quite the glare before parking.”  She responded by saying, “Why?  It’s not your fault.”  I shrugged and said, “Yeah, but they don’t know that.”

A couple more minutes pass and the cashier apologizes again and hands me my food.  I pull forward and as I cross the front of the building, there they were again.  Instead of dirty looks, this time they’re both waving, smiling, and screaming “Thank you” out of their windows.  I smile back and wave.  I had quite the chuckle going home.

So, for the first time in my life I can honestly say I got the “stank-eye” from a white haired little old lady in the drive thru.  Seriously, you haven’t lived until you’ve been mean mugged by granny!

Leave a Reply

